Facebook Twitter

Vela House

Head of House - Mr Foster

House Colour: Woodpecker Green

Named after the Constellation of Vela
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Right Ascension: 03h
Declination: +45°

Why the name VELA?

Vela house is named after the Constellation of Vela, one of the three constellations that used to form the huge constellation Argo Navis, the ship of Jason and the Argonauts.

In 1763 Nicolas Louis de Lacaille divided the Argo Navis into three constellations: Carina (the Keel), Puppis (the Stern), and Vela (the Sail).

The word Vela is also Latin for the sails of a ship and is often used as a Spanish name meaning vigilant or watchful.

What does it mean to us at Tollbar?

In Vela house we take the sails of a ship as a symbol of our ambition to move forward, driven to succeed by our motivation, discipline and personal integrity. Like any ship's crew, we pride ourselves on working together, trusting each other and finding solutions to challenges through honesty and open discussion. We value the time we spend together and make the most of the opportunities presented to us. We always AIM HIGH!

Working as a team, the tutors and students of Vela House intend to uphold these values and encourage each other towards best possible outcomes and valuable future destinations.

Vela's young leaders

Year on year Vela students pro-actively participate in the full range of events held to inspire and challenge Tollbar students. We are very proud of our collective efforts and very grateful to our young leaders who have stepped forward to represent our house. In academic year 2020-21 they are:

Vela House Prefects:

The role of a Vela House Prefect is to act as a senior ambassador, working alongside the Head of House and House tutors, to ensure the ongoing welfare of Vela students of all ages. This is a prestigious and hugely responsible role we are proud to have offered to:

  • Joshua Essex

Tutor Group Prefects

Vela's tutor group prefects are senior Year 11 students who work alongside Mr Foster and their tutors to ensure the welfare of those in their form group. The following have been nominated for 2020-21.

House Group
1 Lily-Mae Gula
2 Ella Greenway
3 Amy Hotson
4 Ebony Cutler
5 Zac Mazel
6 Ben Cain
7 Ruby Blake
8 Rhianna Darwent
9 Molly-Ann Lock
10 Logan Dodds
11 William Airey
12 Christina Leung
13 Grace Hodgson
14 Shahidul Islam

Sports Captains:

Our two talented sports captains help to encourage, co-ordinate and lead sports teams participating in the Interhouse competitions.

  • Alex Blakey (Girls)
  • Alfie Handley (Boys)

Vice-Sports Captains:

Our Vice-Sports Captains act in support of our Sports Captains to plan Vela's sporting success.

  • Isabelle Ward (Girls)
  • Archie Holness (Boys)

House Council

Vela's House Council members play a vital role in ensuring that Vela students can share their views and opinions about their lives at Tollbar Academy. They each represent their fellow tutees and meet as both a House Council and School Council to discuss how we can all make the most of our time at Tollbar Academy. Our representatives are:

House Group
1 Owen Mawer
2 Charlie Smith
3 Bobbi-Lee Bradley
4 Bailey Spencer
5 Ashlee McInnes
6 Ben Cain
7 James Burns
8 Ali Medany
9 Joseph Stephen
10 Madison Fulcher
11 Tumi Popoola
12 Phoebe Blackburn
13 Jacob O'Connor
14 Sydney Krogh

Endeavour Award winners

The Endeavour Awards celebrate the success of students from any year group who have made a significant personal contribution to the life of the Academy or House over the previous year.

The overall winner, rewarded with custodianship of the prestigious Vela Endeavour Shield for the full Academic year is Harry Holmes.

The full list of winners is below,

  • Wesley Jensen
  • Corie Williams
  • Jake Rogers
  • Reece Handley
  • Grace Stephenson
  • Julia Watkins
  • Faith Godfrey
  • Sophie Flynn
  • Max Douglas
  • Joshua Essex
  • Matilda Croft
  • Isabelle Ward
  • Harry Holmes
  • Soulle Dawson

Thinking Of Becoming A Teacher?

Apply Today

Tollbar Academy Interim Principal

Victoria Watts