Facebook Twitter

Tucana House

Head of House - Mr J Finn

House Colour: Barbet Green
Named after the Constellation of Tucana
Location: Southern Hemisphere
Right Ascension: 22h
Declination: -56°

Tucana Constellation and the Toucan

Tucana is a constellation of stars in the southern sky, named after the toucan, a South American bird. It is one of twelve constellations conceived in the late sixteenth century by Petrus Plancius from the observations of Pieter Dirkszoon Keyser and Frederick de Houtman. This colourful bird is also well respected in various cultures as it is believed to be sent to them from the Gods.

Due to its unique appearance, the toucan is one of the most well-known and popular birds around the world. They are also essential to distributing seeds around their natural habitats which help create richly developed areas, aiding many other animals in improving their own lives. A toucan's large bill carries significant strength and its legs and wings ensure its powerful movement. These are all qualities that the students of Tucana House possess: uniqueness, helpfulness, strength and a powerful presence in their environment.

'Flying To Victory.'

TUCANA 2019-2020

Tucana House has had a successful academic year in 2018-2019. We finished a well-deserved second in the overall Interhouse Cup, winning 5 Interhouse competitions: Maths, basketball, Modern Foreign Languages, ICT and the quiz.

Student Leadership In Tucana House

Tucana students are appointed to senior positions of importance within the house. This year we have a tremendous array of hardworking and diligent individuals who will be representing Tucana House with distinction and dedication.

Form Prefects

Tucana's prefects are Year 11 students who lead by example. They work alongside Mr Finn and their tutors to ensure the success and welfare of those in their form group. The Tucana Prefects for 2019-2020 are:

FORM Prefect Form Prefect
TU1 Lily Clarke TU8 Rumena Begum
TU2 Kaycie Blyth TU9 Freya Brown
TU3 Talitha Burrows TU10 Will Parker
TU4 Stan Woolford TU11 Caitlyn Rowe
TU5 Sophie Grant TU12 Josh Bond
TU6 Rianna Hewitt TU13 Harry Dunn
TU7 Tong-Tong Martin TU14 Olivia Dobson

House Prefects:

These four students are the most senior students in Tucana and will work to maintain the overall success of the House, They have proven themselves to be responsible, dependable and above all dedicated to Tucana House and Tollbar Academy. The Tucana House Prefects for 2019-2020 are:

Kaycie Blyth (TU2)

Edward Wells (TU8)

Isabella Glasson (TU9)

Joshua Bond (TU12)


This year, Tucana House is hoping to build on the successes we achieved in Interhouse competitions last year. We showed our skills in academic, artistic and athletic challenges throughout 2018-2019 and we are hungry for even more success. This success will come from each member of Tucana House supporting each other and taking part. In 2019-2020, students are encouraged to: try something new, try something that challenges you, try to improve on something and try to join in even more challenges and competitions. The more Tucana student try new experiences and challenges, whether they win or not, the more they will grow into even more amazing young people.

Vice-Sports Captains:

This year's four talented sporting students who will assist the Sports Captains in the organisation of teams involved in the Interhouse competitions, They play a vital role in keeping Tucana House in high spirits and competing to the best of our abilities. They are:

Louis hardy (TU2)

Keane Davies (TU6)

Caitlyn Rowe 9TU11)

Emmie Thomsen (TU12)

Sports Captains:

We also have four very talented and dedicated Sports Captains who will be an indispensable part of Tucana House's presence on the pitch, field or in the sports hall. They will help motivate and encourage all of our students to take part in as many challenges and competitions as they can and make us even stronger. They are:

Stan Woolford (TU4)

Primrose Cunningham (TU6)

Benjamin Wells (TU8)

Megan Jackson (TU14)

Tucana House Council Members

Our House Council members play a vital role in ensuring that students can share their views and opinions about their lives in Tucana House and a Tollbar Academy. They will meet as both a House Council and a School Council to put forward ideas from fellow students on how to ensure that everyone can get the most from their time at Tollbar Academy. They are:

FORM Councillors FORM Councillors
TU1 Olivia Gray TU8 Ben Wells
TU2 Alfie Lister TU9 Rjeon Walrond
TU3 Amelia Ayres TU10 Elliott Pyman
TU4 Hadley Galyer TU11 Harry Telford
TU5 Alfie Royston TU12 Jake Mills
TU6 Primrose Cunningham TU13 Phillipa Hartley
TU7 Malaki Hammond TU14 Ruby Cox

Tucana Endeavour Award winners:

This Endeavour awards celebrate the successes of students from any year group who have made a special effort towards the Academy through extra hard work, their participation in Academy events and even in achieving success in the face of extra challenges and diversity. An overall winner is rewarded with custodianship of the prestigious Tucana Endeavour Shield for the full Academic year. The full list of winners is below, with the overall Tucana Endeavour Shield being awarded to Grace Trippitt (TU10) for her excellent efforts and amazing success in Year 8.

FORM Endeavour Awards FORM Endeavour Awards
TU1 Will Cameron TU8 Harry Robinson
TU2 Isabelle Shaw TU9 Shannon Wood
TU3 Scarlett Stead- Lewis TU10 Grace Trippitt
TU4 Mollie Ryan TU11 Kira Slosmanis
TU5 Scott Bingley TU12 Poppy Brown
TU6 Jasmine Atkinson-Gibbs TU13 Tilly Green
TU7 Matthew Greig TU14 Poppy Barnbrook

Thinking Of Becoming A Teacher?

Apply Today

Tollbar Academy Interim Principal

Victoria Watts