Tollbar Students Take Part In First Ever TMAT Badminton Tournament

Tollbar MAT Badminton Tournament held at Cleethorpes Academy. (Front row) The winning Cleethorpes Academy Badminton Team members are: Marni George, Emily Oswin, Cadarn Taylor, Lewis Common, Oliver Pexman, Mason Williams, Jasmin Blastland and Alishia Romagnuolo. (Second row) Tollbar Academy Badminton Team members: Matthew Bradley, Alistair Mann, Hana Botic, Jessica Kelly, Leah Gray, Molly Gula, Callum Jones. (Second to back row) Louth Academy Badminton Team members: Jake Helliwell, Alex Maxlow, Finlay Cave, Daniel Evison, Olivia Cooper, Amie Greaves and Grace Powell. (Back row) Somercotes Academy Badminton Team members: Oscar Lo, Abigail Coley, McKensie Henderson, Alice Bradshaw, Alfie Jackson, Reuben Cross and Georgia Pennell.

Tollbar Academy students had a fantastic time taking on their counterparts in the first ever TMAT Badminton Tournament.

Cleethorpes Academy hosted the tournament with students from Tollbar, Louth and Somercotes Academies taking part. They are all members of Tollbar Multi Academy Trust.

The hosts won both the girls and boys competitions, but every student enjoyed the KS3 tournament which gave them opportunities to test their skills.

Simon Blewitt, Curriculum Leader for P.E. at Cleethorpes Academy, said: "The competition was a fantastic evening and all of the Academies thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The MAT competitions are a great opportunity for the students to experience opposition that they usually do not get the chance to compete against."

Tollbar Academy player Callum Jones in action.

Jessica Kelly.

Thinking Of Becoming A Teacher?

Apply Today

Tollbar Academy Principal

Caroline L Yates
BA (Hons).

Tollbar MAT Chief Executive

David J Hampson